Back to Previous

Dance of the Coin and Polovtsian Dances

  • overview
  • The Wilmington Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Steven Errante,  features the premier of Julia Walker Jewel's multi-media Dance of the Coin in addition to Alexander Borodin's Polovtsian Dances. Part of the Wilmington Symphony’s Concert Series, the Dance of the Coin will be played by the Symphony featuring the composer on piano, with dancers from Forward Motion at the same time a film containing a series of vignettes are projected behind and above the performers.

    The Dance of the Coin music, dance and film tells the story of a coin, specifically, a 1942 German 5 reichspfenning, which travels throughout Germany and eventually to the United States, and gives the viewer glimpses into the lives of the people whose hands hold and pass along this coin, both Jews and non-Jews.


Dance of the Coin and Polovtsian Dances
  • 703 North Third Street
  • Wilmington, NC 28401
  • February 3, 2018