Wrightsville Beach Historic Square

Experience a piece of beach history with a trip to the 300 block of West Salisbury Street. Step into cottages from the 1900s that are now home to local attractions and non-profit organizations. The homes that make up the Historic Square are some of the last survivors of the Great Fire, which roared through the island in 1934.

Wrightsville Beach Museum of History

The Myers Cottage, circa 1909, is home to the Wrightsville Beach Museum of History. The historic cottage was moved over a mile from its former location on Lumina Avenue to the Wrightsville Beach Historic Square in 2010. Visitors who visit the free museum will learn more about the history and culture of our beach community.

The museum is designed to reflect how life was lived in a typical summer cottage at Wrightsville Beach. Step into a bedroom, bathroom and kitchen outfitted with typical furnishings from the 1940s; see a twelve foot model of 1910 Wrightsville Beach—complete with trolley; and take some time to relax on a front porch rocking chair and dream of days gone by.

Ewing-Bordeaux Cottage

Coming Soon. In January 2018 the Ewing-Bordeaux Cottage, circa 1924, found a new home in the Wrightsville Beach Historic Square. The house was donated to the Wrightsville Beach Museum of History by Chris and Debbie Strickland and was moved across the Causeway Bridge about a mile from its original location at 405 North Lumina Avenue. The building will double the footprint of the museum and will serve as the permanent home of the Waterman Hall of Fame, which celebrates the island's water sports and coastal professions that are so important to our beach community. The cottage is expected to open in summer 2018.

Fred and Alice Stanback Coastal Education Center

The Historic Palmgren-O’Quinn House is a beach cottage built in 1946. In 2013 when the NC Coastal Federation was looking for a new home, former Wrightsville Beach Mayor Robert O’Quinn and his wife, Catherine, donated the cottage. It was moved about a mile to its current location on the Wrightsville Beach Historic Square.

The cottage is now home to the Fred and Alice Stanback Coastal Education Center, where visitors can learn all about coastal wildlife and habitats. Get your hands on local animals at the touch tank and learn through "Around the Scenes" tours highlighting rain gardens, salt marshes and native plants.

Wrightsville Beach Visitor's Center

The Bender-Howell Cottage, circa 1940, was relocated from its original location on South Waynick Boulevard more than two miles to the Wrightsville Beach Historic Square in 2004. It houses the Wrightsville Beach Visitors Center, which is open from April through September. The cottage also serves as the home of the Wrightsville Beach Chamber of Commerce.

Self-Guided Historic Tours

There is more to discover beyond the Historic Square. Take yourself on a self-guided tour of the island's historic homes with the historic homes map provided by the Town of Wrightsville Beach.

On select weekends throughout the year, the Wrightsville Beach Museum of History installs their Loop through History exhibit signs along the 2.45-mile Wrightsville Beach Loop. The museum offers The Loop through History self-guided map any time to visitors who stop in and request it.